Wing Chun. Is it too limited?

Discuss training methods, physiology, pedagogy, psychology, morality. Conquer yourself, contribute. Please stay on topic.

Moderators: nyang, Dvivid, Inga

Wing Chun. Is it too limited?

Postby Balloo » Sun Apr 05, 2009 9:19 pm

Hello all, I am a student of Wing Chun Gung Fu, and when I practice the principles of my art I see that the principles are very profound, and may take years to master, but then I look at other Chinese martial arts, and I see they seem to have so many more concepts, and philosophies to them. I was looking at Xingyiquan in Sifu Liang's book, and it seems to go so much deeper. I understand any martial art is a lifetime endeavor, but many of my fellow students have trained for years and they say they get bored with the training and feel like there isn't much more to learn. I know there is, but as I said other arts seem to go so much deeper. I looked at Xingyi because I like the direct efficient moves, and I know xingyi has that emphasis. I can study other styles, but I guess my real fear is, what if I get bored with WC in a few years? Is it too limited as a style?
Balloo
Forum Regular

Postby Josh Young » Mon Apr 06, 2009 9:16 am

It is a nice style.
Wing Chun I mean.
In my experience it is rich with what they call principals, they have 108 of them at least that inform specific things about the art an application.
It seems like a dedicated student could learn the art in 6-8 years and then master it in another 10 or so. My WC teacher had 27 years teaching experience as a sifu when I met him, before I met him I met 5 other WC sifus. I asked each one specific questions and essentially interviewed them, the last one I met with was the right one.