Finger tip pushups

Discuss training methods, physiology, pedagogy, psychology, morality. Conquer yourself, contribute. Please stay on topic.

Moderators: nyang, Dvivid, Inga

Postby Blarg » Sun Aug 07, 2005 8:37 am

It is written up in books I've read that harsh fingertip work can harm the eyes. I'm afraid I'm proof of that. I trained my hands by thrusting them in sand, but particularly my right hand. Within a matter of months after doing this, my vision became a little more blurry in my right eye than my left. I now have very poor night vision in my right eye. It's quite dramatic. Especially since I'd always had extraordinarily good night vision before.

This all happened more than 20 years ago, so as far as I know there have been no further ill effects. I've long since given up the practice.

However, I also did a lot of fingertip push-ups, not in a tigerclaw style, but on the pads of the fingers, for years before I started training my fingertips with impact and hard contact. These fingertip push-ups I did and continued to do for many years, before and after, in great volume. I've noticed no ill effects.
Blarg
Forum Regular

Postby Hephaestus » Mon Aug 08, 2005 7:40 pm

Folschild wrote:quoting Shaolin Long Fist Kung Fu by Dr. Yang:

Although the Iron Sand Hand is a great possession it has one great drawback. The martial artist who goes beyond eight to ten stages will become sterile. According to acupuncture theory, the nerves in the hand can influence the reproductive organs (the testicles) if enough stimulus is given to the hands. It is clear that the training methods can easily do this. Usually, martial artists who already have children or are permanent bachelors will go beyond the eighth or tenth stage." (25)

You might want to pick this book up. It's pretty much completely awesome.

If my understanding is correct, the eighth-tenth stages of Iron Sand Palm training involve jabbing the hands/fingers into red(hot) sand, and possibly even more drastic methods.