1st time sparring and I am exhausted. Why?

Discuss sparring, training applications in a competition environment, or even in real-life (fighting, self-defence). Please no violence!
And stay on topic.

Moderators: nyang, Dvivid, Inga

1st time sparring and I am exhausted. Why?

Postby floydhuynh » Tue Nov 29, 2005 4:42 pm

Hi -

I have been practicing Gongfu for more than 3 years (Choy Lay Fut, Plum Blossom) and I have never sparred. Until last night, I have been called out and sparred with my senior students. It's only a minute-sparring but after that I feel so tired. My calves' muscles are exhausted and tensed. I don't think I have anything much during the sparring. Typically, I try to block and counter-attack. I normally work out in the class more than 3 hours and my stances are still strong. Does anyone remember the same feeling when you first spar? Is it the mind that makes body tired or something else? How can I get over this feeling? spar more and will get used to it?!!!

Floyd
floydhuynh
Forum Newbie

Postby Pooh_Tao » Tue Nov 29, 2005 5:05 pm

Try relaxing and controlling your breath while sparring. I read that lots of people use up their energy quickly because they're so constantly on edge in a fight, particularly in the muscles around the shoulders and neck. This could make more sense as it being your first time you would be particularly excited and tense etc.

It does sound a little strange though as you sound like you're in good shape, perhaps it was just a strange one time occurence, try sparring again in a few days and tell us how it goes.
A fish can't bird, but a bird can fly
Ask me a riddle and I reply
Cottleston, Cottleston, Cottleston pie.
Winnie The Pooh

The fish would be foolish to seek escape from its natural environment.
Lao-Tse

Coincidence?
Pooh_Tao
Forum Contributor

Postby scramasax57 » Tue Nov 29, 2005 5:06 pm

might also be an aftereffect of adrenaline surge.
aka eric hinds, 2nd stripe
n. andover, ma branch