Reincarnation & related topics.

Discuss Qigong, its ideas, theories and practice. Please stay on topic.

Moderators: nyang, Dvivid, Inga

Reincarnation & related topics.

Postby Dvivid » Mon Nov 11, 2013 3:30 pm

Hi!

My name is David (currently), and after many years of researching the subject, I believe in reincarnation. How about you?

Buddhist & Daoist traditions discuss reincarnation in great detail, and our own YMAA Qigong studies pertain to the concept of the energy body and its existence outside of the human body. There are a great many resources one can cross-reference to form an idea on this subject, if you're interested. Are you?

I trained for a period in astral projection, and also have had an out of body experience quite by accident, both accompanied by a heightened consciousness, so I have some small, relatable experience prior to my qigong study.

*Edit: I should also mention that I started as an atheist, with no religious history, and have spent a great deal of time thinking about this subject from a very young age due to my proximity to multiple deaths within my family. I was an odd kid, reading the existentialists rather than partying, and exploring consciousness with meditation instead of normal teenage activities.*

Buddha told the story that during the process of his enlightenment, he remembered each and every one of his past lives, back through thousands of years of human lives, and even back to the lives of several animals before he was human. And, I've come to believe that the Buddha dharma does not lie. What do you think?

It is especially common for children before the age of 5 or 6 to remember their past lives. After that age, the memories tend to fade entirely. In fact, the Tibetan tradition of finding reincarnated tulkus, the panchen lama, and dalai lama all rely upon this fact!

I am keeping my mind open on this topic, and am interested to learn more.

Here, I give you, example #1 to cross reference from American culture: