Training breathing techniques one step at a time

Discuss Qigong, its ideas, theories and practice. Please stay on topic.

Moderators: nyang, Dvivid, Inga

Training breathing techniques one step at a time

Postby tianshiz » Thu Feb 02, 2012 8:33 pm

I am a beginner to qigong and have so far only gone through the understanding qigong DVDs.

From the videos I have for the first time realized the importance of breathing. And because I'm seeking to increase the quality and quantity of my qi and at the same time improve my physical abilities, I want to start off my training with breathing. I need some guidance on this plan if anyone could help?

Here is my path:

Qi accumulation and improvement:
1. Abdominal breathing
2. Reverse abdominal breathing
3. Embryonic breathing
3.5 small small circulation
4. Small Circulation
5. Grand Circulation

I realize that it would take an immense amount of training to get to 4 or 5. But it's always good to shoot high. Once I build a sizable amount of soft qi, I would concurrently pursue some hard-soft styles. But at the moment, I have really no foundation in qi.

So far, I noticed that I seem to breath naturally with my abdominals. I usually only breathe with my chest when I'm exercising and short on breath. I'm not quite sure if I should just move on to reverse abdominal breathing from here or not.