Novice Seeks Advice

Discuss Qigong, its ideas, theories and practice. Please stay on topic.

Moderators: nyang, Dvivid, Inga

Novice Seeks Advice

Postby johnboy554 » Mon Jul 27, 2009 2:55 am

Hello all,

Firstly let me apologise for a long first post, and secondly for placing it in perhaps the wrong forum topic!

I class myself as a complete novice in Qi Gong/Chi Kung and have been 'training' solo for the past 4 months as I am unable to locate any classes in my location.

I have discovered Qi Gong in an attempt to find an altenative method of injury/ailment management (or even cure!) for a few problems I have suffered with for years. During my search I was lead to this forum and I find the threads informative and helpful, written by people who seem to really care and know what they're talking about. Hopefully some of you will be able to offer some advice... however, let me give you a bit of background:

I am a 40 year old male who suffers from some 'unknown' lower back pain and left knee pain. I am reasonably active (walking daily and cycling) but overweight probably hefting around an extra 20-25 Kg which is proving difficult to lose.

My back pain has bothered me for over 20 years. I do not recall ever having any kind of accident or trauma to cause this and I've had x-rays, MRI scans, CAT scans and numerous consultations with doctors and physiotherapists - all concluding that there is structurally nothing wrong with me! I know I have pain as I suffer from it daily! The pain feels a bit like a thick belt of stiffness around the rear part of my waist (lumbar area). Stretching and traditional Thai massage relieve it temporarily.