Zhan Zhuang

Discuss Qigong, its ideas, theories and practice. Please stay on topic.

Moderators: nyang, Dvivid, Inga

Zhan Zhuang

Postby internalfist » Mon Mar 16, 2009 2:02 pm

Hello, I have been practicing Zhan Zhuang for about 2 months daily now.Im practcing out of Lam Kam Chuens book on Zhan Zhuang. I do about 45 minutes each morning after, and Ive noticed that I totally loose my appetite completely. Just like now, I woke up at 6 did zham zhuang. Its 3 now and I have had nothing to eat all day. And I real feel no hunger pains I know its bad that I have not eaten any thing, though Ive had water, its been a busy day.
But is this a bad thing or just a niether here nor there thing?
Thank you.
internalfist
Forum Contributor

Postby joeblast » Tue Mar 17, 2009 9:03 am

That's a good thing! The body needs energy to subsist on, be it the electrochemical energy you get from digestion, or...bigu :) Ramp up your practice and you can subsist on qi, its how masters can do a month in a cave with nothing to eat or drink. Also how devout buddhists or ascetics can eat lunch, and basically have qi for breakfast and dinner.

I'd say if you can keep up that level of training, go for eating once a day, maybe set aside a day or two a week where you simply fast, or better yet, eat when you are hungry, your body will tell you what it needs.
Its so much easier to get deep into meditation when the empty/yang/Fu organs are pretty much empty, as they occupy the majority of the space your abdomen is moving when breathing.

Keep doing the ZZ, and I would also recommend seated meditation in the evenings. Its like going out and earning money, then 'making your deposit' in the evening. But no mistake, a good ZZ regimen is invaluable and is an awesome way to build qi!
joeblast
Forum DemiGod

Postby internalfist » Tue Mar 17, 2009 3:05 pm

Thanks alot for the info! Wow Im really kinda amazed honestly.