Qigong massage causes rash? (Fibromyalgia.)

Discuss Qigong, its ideas, theories and practice. Please stay on topic.

Moderators: nyang, Dvivid, Inga

Qigong massage causes rash? (Fibromyalgia.)

Postby dcurtiss » Mon Apr 02, 2007 1:52 pm

I am a long term sufferer from chronic pain, initially started with carpal tunnel, long story, I have been told I suffer from "fibromyalgia". I have had some past experience with different forms of energy work, as well as the full complement of phyisical modalities, myofascial, chiro, etc. I have also been attuned to second degree Reiki and spent a great deal of time with self treatments.

I had been doing some intermittent work with a Ken Cohen Qigong DVD, and experienced some interesting reactions, but nothing too extreme. I recently got some of Dr. Yang's materials, which seem excellent.

The question: I have the QiGong massage DVD. I tried the self massage on some days ago (first par, external_not organs). I awoke the next morning with a very pronounced rash, largely where the massage had taken place, but also in other areas. I tried again the next day, and had similar, although not as extreme, reaction. Rash healed eventually, and seemed to be helped by strenuous exercise. Took a few days off, tried again, no rash but pronounced pins and needles, minor spasms, and other sensations I have come to think of as energetic rather than physical in nature.

Is this a healing crisis, or reason for concern? Wondering if continuing the massage will work stuff through or be harmful?

Any thoughts appreciated.
dcurtiss
Just Arrived

response to dcurtis

Postby jfraser » Sun Apr 08, 2007 11:37 am

Is this a healing crisis, or reason for concern? Wondering if continuing the massage will work stuff through or be harmful?

Any thoughts appreciated.

You seem to raise a good question with this qigong work. That is do things get worse before they get better.