Qigon Meditation and The Inner Journey

Discuss Qigong, its ideas, theories and practice. Please stay on topic.

Moderators: nyang, Dvivid, Inga

In meditation, if "you" focus on the Lower Dan Tian, as the observer, your perspective is:

From above the "third eye" area, looking downward
No votes
From within the "third eye" area, looking downward
50%
At, and outside the lower Dan Tian, looking forward
No votes
At, and within the lower Dan Tian
No votes
None of the above
No votes
Any one of the above, at any given time
50%

Total votes : 4

Qigon Meditation and The Inner Journey

Postby SageMorpheus » Mon Jan 29, 2007 3:24 pm

I have been meditating twice daily, for thirty years; mostly sitting quietly with a mantra, and concentrating on breathing. Over the years a verbal mantra (in the head) has faded to a subtle "pulsing sensation" which originates at the lower DT, and appears consciously somewhat as a foggy faint light in that area.

During meditation, the brightness of the light does not change, but travels upward to the upper DT area, where I also feel a pulsing behind the forehead area -- like the pituitary and pineal glands are "dripping or secreting" with each pulse. Eventually, the intensity of the pulse increases to the point where it results in my entire upper body going around in circles, with the origin of the pulse remaining "centered" at the lower DT, or sometimes lower, at the perineum -- kind of like a top spinning upon its point. I don't get dizzy or anything, its just a spontaneous, uncontrolled, energy-charged manifestation that is extremely calming, and that I can stop at any time --but why! Eventually, all the movement stops and I just sit there without thought for the remainder of my meditation.