Yang, Jwing Ming & Yang Family

Discuss Taijiquan or other soft styles. Theory, practice and applications. Please stay on topic.

Moderators: nyang, Dvivid, Inga, taiqiman

Yang, Jwing Ming & Yang Family

Postby Greg Jah » Thu Feb 07, 2013 6:21 pm

Hi everyone,

I am curious about the differences in emphasis between the Yang Family style of Tai Chi & YMAA style, specifically related to the traditional/ long forms (108 & 103)?

Does anyone care to comment on the perceived similarities/ differences between these two styles? I am relatively new to Tai Chi, am learning this form (YMAA version) and just trying to get a sense of the ways in which this form is similar and/ or different. I have done some youtubing and haven't been able to get a good sense of what is unique to the form, and what is unique to the practitioner.

Best,

Greg
Greg Jah
Forum Contributor

Re: Yang, Jwing Ming & Yang Family

Postby chh » Thu Feb 07, 2013 7:00 pm

I can think of some differences I've noticed- sorry if these aren't the kinds of things you were wondering about.

It seems to me that in Yang Family Style people tend to shift their weight back before pivoting on the front foot before a forward step. The support I've heard for this is that pivoting on a foot that has your weight over it can put stress on the knee. In YMAA people keep their weight forward when pivoting on the front foot for a forward step. The explanation for this is that it keeps from interrupting the forward energy of a sequence of moves (and maybe that it takes less time?).