Repeating Simplified Yang Form?

Discuss Taijiquan or other soft styles. Theory, practice and applications. Please stay on topic.

Moderators: nyang, Dvivid, Inga, taiqiman

Repeating Simplified Yang Form?

Postby fit155 » Sun Mar 18, 2012 4:08 pm

I am new to practicing T'ai Chi and am using the Simplified Tai Chi Chuan with Applications by Liang, Shou-Yu video to learn the form.

In this video and other demonstrations of the form that I've seen, it seems like the complete form is completed in about 5 minutes once you know all the postures.

When you know all the postures, are you suppose to keep repeating the routine until you've exercised for 15, 20, 30+ minutes, or is it meant to be completed just once?

I am practicing T'ai Chi for general health, with a focus on inner and physical balance :)
fit155
Forum Addict

Re: Repeating Simplified Yang Form?

Postby yeniseri » Sun Mar 18, 2012 8:56 pm

fit155 wrote:I am new to practicing T'ai Chi and am using the Simplified Tai Chi Chuan with Applications by Liang, Shou-Yu video to learn the form.

In this video and other demonstrations of the form that I've seen, it seems like the complete form is completed in about 5 minutes once you know all the postures.

When you know all the postures, are you suppose to keep repeating the routine until you've exercised for 15, 20, 30+ minutes, or is it meant to be completed just once?

I am practicing T'ai Chi for general health, with a focus on inner and physical balance :)

I am not sure of your practice routine but taijiquan has a weird practice format today that involves learning the form and that is it. One practice schedule is as follows:
1. Basic introduction of individual postures. Example brush knee, wave hands, etc , say 2-3 minuetes.
2. Holding postures by whatever concept, word usage, as in zhanzhaung, taijizhuang, ding shi.
Holding ball, hands strum lute, wuji postures, single whip, etc