taijiquan?

Discuss Taijiquan or other soft styles. Theory, practice and applications. Please stay on topic.

Moderators: nyang, Dvivid, Inga, taiqiman

taijiquan?

Postby lilman » Fri Mar 13, 2009 2:08 am

What is taijiquan?

I first started interest in taiji after seeing the movie twin warriors with jet li. I didn't have a teacher and no way to find one, so I studied from books alone. I learned of the 13 powers, Taoist theory and mythology, differences in theory and
Possibilities. Then I practiced with my first teacher, and thought I was learning more. I ended up teaching his students from what I learned in books he didn't know. Finally I met my current teacher whom taught me things I never read about
Or learned. I am learning about aspects I never knew existed. Dr Yang said in one of his books the art is lost. From what I am learning and what I see, I believe it.

I believe the quan aspect is slowly disappearing. I never read anything about how to develop the unbendable arm for lack of a better term, or how to send chi into your opponent, the secret of circles, secrets such as never look down is neglected,
You can even see Dr Yang himself look down in pics and videos. So the question is are these secrets lost, or is taijiquan no longer quan at all?

My teacher teaches taijiquan as a dirty fighting art. Every movement is meant to kill or break something or end the fight. There's groin shots, eye gouging, and deception which lacks in the available info today. It seems the focus now is competition
Health and longevity only. All this comes naturally from practicing it as a martial art, yet its not taught as such so its dying out. The secrets are being lost. Even the secrets and applications from the chi gong are. Not being taught. The traditional chi gongs