Teachers with limited knowledge..

Discuss shaolin longfist, white crane or other styles. Theory, practice and applications. Please stay on topic.

Moderators: nyang, Dvivid, Inga

Teachers with limited knowledge..

Postby Crane_Fighter » Mon Aug 01, 2005 4:30 pm

Hi guyz :D

I study Fujian White Crane Kung Fu which my teacher says is a combination of Tiger/Crane style.

I have been studying this form for just over three years but I am worried about the knowledge my teacher possesses.

He was taught by a very good teacher (Dennis Ngo), But only admits to 5-6 years of study.

Some of the classes are becoming very repetative and a lot of my fellow class mates have given up studying because they say that they are not learning anything new.

I have a great deal of respect for my teacher but i'm always worried about sticking with him. There is another class not to far from me which sounds good.

What should I do???
Crane_Fighter
Forum Regular

Postby darth_freak » Mon Aug 01, 2005 4:40 pm

you would not want to be sarcastic, but do you master or perform well the things you've been taught?
there can be so many things to work on in a simple move or routine...especially white crane...

but that's just my opinion from what I understand.
"Turn your butt!"
Master Yang.

Xavier
darth_freak
Forum ÜberGuru

Postby Crane_Fighter » Tue Aug 02, 2005 4:39 am

I am trying to master the moves and patterns I am taught.

I want to be able to perform White Crane as it was intended to be performed, with graceful,flowing hand movements, powerful snapping strikes, the correct breathing and tension.

I have learnt a single broadsword pattern and the perfect staff pattern. Also I have learnt the first three patterns and have got them pretty much dialled. The only thing left to master is the breathing and tension.