Longfist Basic Training

Discuss shaolin longfist, white crane or other styles. Theory, practice and applications. Please stay on topic.

Moderators: nyang, Dvivid, Inga

Longfist Basic Training

Postby green_thaddeus » Wed Sep 10, 2008 4:04 am

So I recently picked up the book for Longfist, and have been loving it! Unfortunatly, living in rural minnesota, there really aren't any kung fu schools of any type near by. I know that most people think it's more or less impossible to learn by yourself, and over all I agree, but would like to start working on some basics at least, until I can move into the metro area and find a school. So far I've worked the stances and basic strikes to death, as well as the first couple steps in lien bu chuan. Overall, guess I was wondering if anyone had any advice for a solo-trainer? I have some karate experience (Okinowan) and am currently taking Kumdo (korean sword) so I'm not totally ignorant of martial skills. Also, I use my roommate as a test dummy of sorts to try and figure out the practical application for each form. It's slow moving, and I'm and eager kung fu beaver! I'd love any advice...
green_thaddeus
Forum Contributor

Postby green_thaddeus » Wed Sep 10, 2008 11:32 pm

So maybe I wasn't specific enough with the questions I asked in the previous segment, either way I've gotten no replies. What I perhaps should have asked is: What are the things that they have you doing in your first couple of months of class? Obviously stances and such, but is there any specif way you should practice these things? I would really love to be able to learn kung fu here, it's been a dream for years, and I've only recently decided that no matter what I will continue my training, I just feel a little...lost.
green_thaddeus
Forum Contributor

Postby Yatish Parmar » Thu Sep 11, 2008 12:27 am

Loren Christenson has a book called solo training.