Real Combat Situations and Qin Na

Discuss shaolin longfist, white crane or other styles. Theory, practice and applications. Please stay on topic.

Moderators: nyang, Dvivid, Inga

Real Combat Situations and Qin Na

Postby silverfox » Wed Feb 14, 2007 2:53 pm

Hello everyone,

Master Yang has said that to get good at using Qin Na in real combat, that the practioneer should focus on a few techniques that they feel comfortable with and master them. I am studying for my 3rd Shaolin stripe and have compiled a list of 20 chosen Qin Na for my test with Master Yang.

I feel that these 20 are more efficient for me since I have been studying Wing Tsun since 1996. My chosen Qin Na are all off palms or punches, which means I am using my opponents bridge as opposed to them grabbing my wrist, or shirt, etc.. I am more comfortable with this idea for real combat situations.

I was curious from other YMAA practioneers, what Qin Na did you prefer to use when you tested chosen Qin Na and why?

YMAA practioneers, If you haven't tested chosen Qin Na yet, what Qin Na do you like and why?

Non-YMAA people, what types of joint locks do you like for real world combat and why?

Please stay on topic,

Thanks for your input,

Scott
"The greatest goal of life is to cultivate your own human nature
and learn how to harmonize with nature and others around you"

GLMC

Scott Tarbell
Director of YMAA Amesbury
www.ymaakungfu.com
silverfox
Forum Addict

Postby darth_freak » Wed Feb 14, 2007 5:37 pm

I also like off punches or grabing and moving. As if the opponents grabs you but doesn't stay still as in the first 2 stripes. I mean he grabs and comes to attack. Then it gets interesting.
But I wonder if it's still applicable because we get used to certain kind of attacks. I think we should pick up some random people and ask them to attack you in some ways they would attack and then see if your qinna are effective.
"Turn your butt!"
Master Yang.

Xavier
darth_freak
Forum ÜberGuru