Training and Healing

Use this forum for general Martial Arts related discussion. Please stick strictly to Martial Arts and use the "General Chat" topic for other themes.

Moderators: nyang, Dvivid, Inga

Training and Healing

Postby chad101 » Sat Jul 17, 2010 9:22 pm

Howdy!

I am writing this post, because I need help with something. The thing is, I'm not sure what the problem really is. Sometimes, my mind races a million miles an hour, and I have difficulty focusing on the present. Sometimes, this holds me back in finishing tasks that I have started. I think I may have some anxiety problems. If something angers me, and I'm around people, I really try not to show it, but over time, it seems this anger builds up, and it becomes harder and harder to hold it back. I wait until I'm alone, and just breathe for a while until I calm down. I don't have a tendency to lash out or anything like that. But, it does become overwelming.

Right now, I'm a college student. I'm 30 years old, and I'm a Navy veteran. I'm having a blast at school. I've learned so much here, and I've been able to share this with my fellow students to help them through their classes - I tutor them. Sometimes, my frustration with some teachers or subjects leads to anger, and this inhibits me from using my time efficiently to learn the material. My own anger holds me back when it's at its peak. I do not want to miss something in school because my random angry thoughts which usually blow things way out of propportion. I'm looking for a means to solve this. I am talking with friends and others about this.

I have studied Martial Arts for most of my life now. I'm no expert. It's something I have a deep passion for. I was introduced to Shoulin Kempo Karate and Long Fist Kung Fu in Charleston, SC when I was stationed there a few years back. I studied with the schools down there for 4 years. I remember Dr. Yang visiting us for a seminar one weekend. (My wrist remembers also. hehe)